jump to navigation

Tom Waits A photo session with Mitchell Rose – Review July 15, 2014

Posted by eyeballkid in Uncategorized.
trackback

I got a hardcover copy of the new Tom Waits picture book A photo session with Mitchell Rose today and I must say I’m impressed. With only 17 pictures, it might seem expensive, but they are all great shots.

‘I didn’t know at the time that my first Rolling Stone Magazine assignment photographing Tom Waits would be one of the most memorable photo sessions of my career. Arriving at the Tropicana Hotel in West Hollywood in 1977 where Tom Waits lived in a little bungalow in the back…a very crowded and congested space. I didn’t know much about Tom at the time but not before too long I knew that this was not going to be easy to pull off.’

Despite the tattoos, drinks, cigarettes and strippers, every single one of the pictures seems to capture some sort of innocence and spontaneity that is lacking in some shots in the Corbijn book, for example. A great collection and a nice addition to any fan’s collection, if you ask me.

 

 

from Blogger http://ift.tt/1mGglX7
via IFTTT

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

